2022 Election Recap

Posted By: Dustin Engelken Government Affairs, TAA News & Updates,

After months of candidate commercials and endless mailers, Election 2022 is finally over! While votes are still being counted in a few places around the country and the national balance of power is still being determined, here in North Carolina, the dust has settled. 

Major takeaways from across the state: 

  • Democrats Wiley Nickel (NC-13) and Don Davis (NC-01) won in competitive Congressional races
  • Republicans gained majority on the NC Supreme Court winning both races
  • Republicans in the NC Senate gained a supermajority with 30 seats
  • Republicans in the NC House came one seat shy of a supermajority with 71 seats

TAA has supported Wiley Nickel over the last few elections and worked with the National Apartment Association to support him in this campaign. He will be a great advocate for the industry in Washington D.C. and we look forward to working with him in this new capacity!

Here in the Triangle, TAA was active in local campaigns supporting a total of nineteen candidates for City Council, County Commissioner, and the North Carolina General Assembly. In total, fourteen of these nineteen won their elections, marking a 74% success rate. Thanks to the support of TAA members, TAA-PAC was able to provide nearly $40,000 in contributions to our candidates. This represents the largest investment ever made by TAA-PAC!

Here's a complete breakdown of results for TAA-supported candidates:

  •  Raleigh City Council
    • Mayor: Mary-Ann Baldwin won
    • At-Large: Stormie Forte & Jonathon Melton won
    • District A: Cat Lawson lost
    • District B: Minu Lee lost
    • District C: Corey Branch won
    • District D: Jenn Truman lost
    • District E: David Knight Lost
  • Wake County Board of Commissioners
    • District 1: Don Mial won
    • District 2: Matt Calabria won
    • District 7: Vickie Adamson won
  • North Carolina House
    • District 21: Ya Liu won
    • District 41: Maria Cervania won
    • District 50: Renee Price won
    • District 66: Sarah Crawford won
  • North Carolina Senate
    • District 13: Lisa Grafstein won
    • District 17: Mark Cavaliero lost
    • District 18: Mary Wills Bode won
    • District 23: Graig Meyer won

Endorsements from the TAA-PAC are based upon the following:

  • Recommendations from TAA Staff and Members;
  • Interviews with potential candidates;
  • Assessment of the candidate’s positions on issues of importance to the membership of the Triangle Apartment Association;
  • Evaluation of the “electability” of the candidate: the strength of the opposition, their need for funds, and examination of voter registration in each legislative district

To learn more about TAA-PAC, and to donate, click here.